Chainsaw Jesus

Understand that I do know that Jesus never used a chainsaw. They weren’t invented back in those days. Otherwise, though, I don’t know why else he wouldn’t have used one. Now you may object that you can’t see the Lord using a Stihl (that’s a brand of chainsaw). Pouring in the oil/gas mix and pulling the crank cord. Putting on the safety glasses and ear protectors. Pulling the trigger throttle emitting that distinctive chainsaw sound.

But keep in mind, he was the carpenter’s son. He worked wood.

These meditations by way of chainsaw came to me just yesterday. I was using my own Poulan (another brand of chainsaw) to remove branches on a recently felled tree on our church property. I was covered in a mixture of sawdust and sweat. The work was hard and strenuous. After only 3 hours I felt wobbly in the legs and my arms, neck and shoulders ached. And then the thought came. It was as overpowering as the smell of the oil/gas mix in my clothes.

Jesus was a carpenter’s son.

In those days there wasn’t a Home Depot to supply wood. Chances are, they went into the local grove and chopped down a tree with some kind of hand tool. No Husqvarna’s here (that’s another brand of chainsaw). Anyway, Jesus likely did some pretty major wood chopping and hand stripping of logs. Hard, dirty, tiring work. He was no weakling, this Jesus, the carpenter’s son. I rather picture him of sturdy build, sinewy and slender, tanned and fit. As a man chisels the wood, he, himself is chiseled.

Perhaps this explains why Jesus endured so long on the cross. Even more amazing that he was kept up all the previous night by the cross-examination of the Jewish officials. And then the long trek to Golgotha. This Son of Man, as He so often referred to himself, was prepared spiritually and yea, physically for the demands of the cross. It somehow impresses me all the more that Jesus was a hard working tradesman. A person who could pour himself out in physical labor as a precursor to the pouring out of himself in spiritual labor.

Paradox of paradoxes. One who worked with wood, died on a wooden cross.

In my imagination is a customer coming to Joseph appreciating Jesus’ skill as a carpenter. And my imaginary conversation continues to play in my head.

The customer observes, “That Jesus sure knows how to work with wood.”

And Joseph, without realizing the magnitude of his statement, replies,

“I’m pretty amazed myself at the wondrous things he does with wood”.

“It’s pretty near miraculous what a person can do, if he pours himself into it.”

About Gary Cleveland

An old chunk of coal waiting to become a diamond some day. I spend the bulk of my time focused on spiritual development. I teach, preach and stand by the hurting and wounded. I believe our heavenly Father offers us daily opportunities to discover who we are and what we can yet become. I serve as a bringer of good news in and around the city of Oshkosh, Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment